Sunday, 22 April 2018

Blog Tour Review: Summer in a Cornish Cove by Kate Ryder

Summer in a Cornish Cove by Kate Ryder
Published: 1st April 2018
Publisher: Aria
Pages: 512
Available in Paperback and on Kindle
Rating: 5/5

Blurb
Set against a gloriously rugged Cornish backdrop, two lives are about to be changed for ever... The book to fall in love with this summer - perfect for fans of Fern Britton, Liz Fenwick and Veronica Henry.
Oliver Foxley is an acclaimed movie star and global heartthrob. But under the glare of the spotlight his ‘perfect’ life - and marriage -is slowly starting to crumble.
Cara Penhaligon is a struggling young Cornish artist, and widowed mother of two children. Life has been unbearably harsh to Cara, but meeting Oliver might just give her a second chance at the happiness she deserves. As each begins to heal the other, the pieces of Oliver's frustrating jigsaw puzzle effortlessly fall into place. But as the Cornish summer draws to a close, Oliver faces the toughest of choices, and no one emerges quite as they were at the start.

Review
Oliver Foxley and Cara Penhaligon are two lost souls searching for something to make them feel whole again. World-famous heart-throb actor Oliver Foxley is used to the limelight and lives the movie star life with his wife Deanna and their four children, but underneath all of this he struggles with a grey mist of depression which seems unable to leave him, what he’s longing for is someone who really understands him.
Cara Penhaligon is a young widow who has been left with two young children. After two years Cara is still mourning the lost of husband Christo and shelters herself away from life in her remote cliff-top house. Apart from her children the only thing which seems to make Cara happy is her painting, for which she has a real talent.
When these two meet the attraction is instant and they find being together helps to ease their pains and as the summer progresses both are left changed forever.
Summer in a Cornish Cove is one of those books which draws you in and thanks to Kate Ryder’s enthralling writing style you feel every emotion along with the characters, which in this book is everything from heartbreak, lust and even fear. It’s a book which after the first couple of chapters had me lost in Cornwall as Cara and Oliver’s story unfolded.  
The first couple of chapters did leave me a little confused, Oliver’s trip to the retreat with the Monks had me questioning what on earth was going on and how this related to Cara and Cornwall. It does however make more sense the further you get into the story and adds a thrilling element to this emotional story.
Along with the great characters in this book I loved the setting, anything to do with Cornwall makes me happy and Kate Ryder has chosen the perfect location to base her book. I loved that the homes of both of these characters seemed to mirror their inner feelings. Both houses are down remote tracks, away from prying eyes keeping their inhabitants safe and sheltered just like Oliver and Cara long to be.
I would love a sequel to this book as honestly the book didn’t end the way I wanted it to and I’m still curious about Greg and wife Marietta and exactly what they were up to with Cara’s artwork.
For me this was a perfect read, I just wish I’d been on a Cornish beach while I read it. Cara and Oliver’s story has the perfect blend of romance, heartache and suspense and I adored it.
Thank you so much to Aria and Netgalley for sending me a copy to review and for inviting me to be part of this blog tour.
About the Author

Kate Ryder has worked in a number of industries including publishing, mainly as a proof-reader/copy editor and writer for a national newspaper, magazines and publishing houses. A member of the New Writers Scheme with the Romantic Novelists Association, in 2013 she published her debut novel, 'The Forgotten Promise', a timeslip romance and mysterious ghost story, which was shortlisted for Choc Lit's 2016 "Search for a Star" and also honoured with a Chill with a Book "Book of the Month" Award. Kate lives in a renovated 200-year-old sawmill in the beautiful Tamar Valley with her husband and a collection of animals.

Follow Kate Ryder
Twitter: @KateRyder_Books

Follow Aria
Facebook: @ariafiction
Twitter: @aria_fiction
Instagram: @ariafiction
Sign up to the Aria newsletter: http://bit.ly/2jQxVtV

 Links to buy
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2I7acRB



No comments:

Post a comment