Thursday, 25 February 2016

Release Day Round-Up #20

So here we are the last week of February and finally some sunshine here in Yorkshire! Fingers crossed it lasts. So here are my top three for this week and surprisingly they are all authors whose previous books I also loved.

Kitty's Countryside Dream

Kitty's Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow
Published: 25th February 2016
Publisher: Bookouture
Pages: 309
Available in Paperback and on Kindle

New home. New life. New beginning. Love affairs can blossom in the most unlikely places . . .
When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it’s time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there’s an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, and the possibility of love, the discovery of a long-hidden diary, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream and blossoming relationship fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …

Just like Christie's previous novels I loved this book. Its got more of a deeper plot than her other books with the mystery surrounding Kitty's grandma and who exactly Violet was. It still had Christie's wonderful comical moments and close-knit friendships which made it a really enjoyable book. Check out my review here.

The Silk Merchant's Daughter

The Silk Merchant's Daughter by Dinah Jeffries
Published: 25th February 2016
Publisher: Penguin UK
Pages: 400
Available in Hardback and on Kindle

1952, French Indochina. Since her mother's death, eighteen-year-old half-French, half-Vietnamese Nicole has been living in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Sylvie. When Sylvie is handed control of the family silk business, Nicole is given an abandoned silk shop in the Vietnamese quarter of Hanoi. But the area is teeming with militant rebels who want to end French rule, by any means possible. For the first time, Nicole is awakened to the corruption of colonial rule - and her own family's involvement shocks her to the core...

Tran, a notorious Vietnamese insurgent, seems to offer the perfect escape from her troubles, while Mark, a charming American trader, is the man she's always dreamed of. But who can she trust in this world where no one is what they seem?

The Silk Merchant's Daughter is a captivating tale of dark secrets, sisterly rivalry and love against the odds, enchantingly set in colonial era Vietnam.

Dinah Jeffries The Tea Planter's Wife was one of my favourite books of last year so I was really looking forward to her next book. In The Silk Merchant's Daughter we meet Nicole a young eighteen year old who is half French and half Vietnamese and is struggling to find where she belongs in the world. I really enjoyed reading about Nicole as she is pulled first one way then another by the various sides in her life, but can she really trust Tran who is offering her a way out of the family where she's never felt she belonged or Mark the my of her dreams who she longs to be with. Check out my full review on the blog tomorrow. 

The Cosy Teashop in the Castle

The Cosy Teashop In The Castle by Caroline Roberts
Published: 25th February 2016
Publisher: Harper Impulse
Pages: 400
Available in Paperback and on Kindle

When Ellie Hall lands her dream job running the little teashop in the beautiful but crumbling Claverham Castle, it’s the perfect escape from her humdrum job in the city. Life is definitely on the rise as Ellie replaces spreadsheets for scones, and continues her Nanna’s brilliant baking legacy.
When Lord Henry, the stick-in-the-mud owner, threatens to burst her baking bubble with his old-fashioned ways, Ellie wonders if she might have bitten off more than she can chew. But cupcake by cupcake she wins the locals over, including teashop stalwart, Doris, and Ellie’s show stopping bakes look set to go down in castle history!
Now all that’s missing in Ellie’s life is a slice of romance – can Joe, the brooding estate manager, be the one to put the cherry on the top of Ellie’s dream?

I've only just started reading this but already I'm hooked. Ellie's determined to make the teashop work and I'm right behind her and rooting for her to succeed as she's such a lovely bubbly character. I love how this is much more light-hearted than Caroline's previous novel The Torn Up Marriage which for me was a real emotional rollercoaster. I can't wait for more time to continue on with Ellie's story. Look out for my review coming soon.

So that's my top three for this week but I'd also like to mention One Summer Night by Emily Bold which is a very emotional read and perfect for fans of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Checkout me review here. If your after something else then check out my releases page above to find other books published today.

No comments:

Post a Comment